SEG announces results of 2020–2021 Board of Directors election

Anna Shaughnessy selected as SEG President-elect

The Society of Exploration Geophysicists (SEG) today announced results of its 2020–2021 Board of Directors election. Anna Shaughnessy was selected by SEG voting members to serve as President-elect. Following her one-year term as President-elect, Shaughnessy will assume the office of SEG President following SEG’s 2021 Annual Meeting, scheduled for 26 September–1 October 2021 in Denver, Colorado.

Anna Shaughnessy, current vice chair of the SEG Foundation, is passionate about SEG. She joined in 1980 and has advanced to become a seasoned volunteer leader, driving positive progress within the Society. Previously, Shaughnessy was secretary and treasurer of SEG’s Executive Committee, chair of the Finance Committee, founding member of the Women’s Network Committee, and member of the Distinguished Lecture, SEG Global Inc., and SEAM Audit committees. In 2019, at the SEG Board’s request, Shaughnessy served as interim executive director while SEG was searching for a new executive director, allowing for continuity and a smooth transition.

Shaughnessy received her BS from the University of Gothenburg in Sweden and MS from Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). Her professional career has shaped her into a well-rounded leader by merging managerial and corporate practices with in-depth academic experience. Shaughnessy has led complex projects and multicultural teams around the world for Mobil Oil, Saudi Aramco, Texaco, and Kerr-McGee. She has held positions as manager of reservoir characterization, geostatistics, new ventures, and international exploration, to name a few. Her academic insights were developed during her six years as executive director of the Earth Resources Laboratory at her alma mater, MIT. Her combined experience of working in industry and academia has given her a unique perspective regarding key drivers, enablers, and challenges in applied geophysics.

Shaughnessy’s areas of focus include: • prioritizing efforts to strengthen SEG’s most relevant products and programs • engaging SEG’s diverse membership to identify gaps in the Society’s existing offerings and create new programs to fill those needs • growing SEG’s humanitarian efforts • empowering SEG’s global offices and members to deliver customized solutions • energizing collaboration with sister organizations.

“These are times to reflect on the future,” Shaughnessy said. “SEG’s role to strengthen and define geophysics in our society must and will continue. Our Society’s leadership will need to support our members and stakeholders in new and innovative ways. A thorough knowledge of all facets of SEG will boost a comprehensive and collaborative approach toward solutions going forward. With your support, I will embrace the opportunity to take on the position of president-elect and strive to create an even more inclusive and diverse SEG that caters to our global membership.”

Also elected to the 2020–2021 Board of Directors were Bruce Z. Shang, Second Vice President; Pete Cramer, Treasurer; and Directors at Large Sherif M. Hanafy and Brandy Hawkins.

The following SEG members have been elected to serve as District Representatives: Patrice N. Mahob, District 1; Tracy J. Stark, District 2; Sarah Gach, District 3; Doug Schmitt, District 4; Rachel Newrick, District 5; Ana Curcio, District 6; Anton Bogrash, District 7; Horst Rüter; District 8; Uche Irene Aigbokhai, District 9; Sandkhadip Bhattacharya, District 10; Yang Liu, District 11; and Ahmad Riza Ghazali, District 12.

Completing the slate of directors for the 2020–2021 term is incoming President Maurice Nessim, Scott Singleton as First Vice President; Baishali Roy as Vice President, Publications; Rick Miller as Past President; Gustavo Carstens as Chair of the Council; and Maria Angela Capello, David Lumley, Kurt Marfurt, and Tad Smith as Directors at Large. The new Board will take office in October, following the final function of the 2020 SEG Annual Meeting.

View the list of newly elected Board Members and District Representatives, complete with their bios, at the SEG Elections page.