SEG Transformation Task Force members announced

Hello SEG members,

SEG’s transformation has begun!

The SEG Transformation Task Force members are selected, and our journey is under way. If you missed my previous update about the Transformation Task Force, you can read it here. Since the new Task Force will take over where the Strategic Options (SO) Task Force left off, most participants are carrying over to keep the momentum going. Those members include:

  • Allen Bertagne
  • Maria Angela Capello
  • Pete Cramer
  • Jeff Shragge
  • Ken Tubman
  • Glenn Wilson

The Task Force will provide continuity from previous efforts and need to maintain it into the future. With that in mind, we added candidates from the upcoming Board elections, two of which were also on the SO Task Force:

  • Gustavo Carstens
  • Arthur Cheng (SO Task Force member)
  • Mike Mellen (SO Task Force member)
  • Alison Weir Small
  • Martin Stupel

SEG’s Executive Director, Jim White, will also be a key contributor and influence in sustaining the effort. In addition to contributing directly to this Task Force, Jim’s vision and leadership of the SEG staff will be critical for SEG’s future.

One of SEG’s challenges is providing value to new generations of geophysicists. To engage those generations, we need leaders who understand them and can offer fresh perspectives. In addition to excellent geophysical, business, and leadership skills, Ellie Ardakani and Jin Ge will bring new ideas to the Task Force.

These three round out the members of the Transformation Task Force:

  • Jim White
  • Ellie Ardakani
  • Jin Ge

The Task Force will work to develop guidelines, vision, and processes. This team will tap into the expertise and contributions of others including a diverse group of members, staff, and volunteers. The Task Force will be guiding implementation and is hiring a project manager for coordination.

Our transformation journey has officially started, and I am thrilled to be a part of this process with you. I will continue to update you once the Transformation Task Force provides its first report.


Anna Shaughnessy

SEG President and Chair of the Board