Episode 47: SEG Honors and Awards 2018 – Albert Tarantola and Mrinal Sen

One of the most important functions of a professional society is honoring those who have made significant contributions to the profession and to science. In this episode we highlight two of the 2018 Honors and Awards winners: Albert Tarantola and Mrinal Sen.

Albert Tarantola was awarded the 2018 Maurice Ewing Medal, the highest honor given by the SEG to a person who has made distinguished contributions both to the advancement of the science and to the profession of exploration geophysics.

In a first for the Maurice Ewing Medal, Albert Tarantola was awarded the honor posthumously. Roel Snieder speaks with host Andrew Geary on his colleague receiving this honor.

Mrinal Sen was awarded the 2018 Virgil Kauffman Gold Medal, an honor given to a person that has made an outstanding contribution to the advancement of the science of geophysical exploration as manifested during the previous five years.

Click on the links above to read their full biographies on the SEG Wiki. Read the full citations of all the award winners on the SEG Digital Library.

2018 Honors and Awards


Seismic Soundoff is sponsored by the SEG Wiki – the place to find hundreds of biographies of geoscientists, open-access tutorials, and ongoing translations of SEG’s best-selling book, Robert Sheriff’s Encyclopedic Dictionary. Explore the world’s first online, geophysics encyclopedia.


Interviews: Roel Snieder and Mrinal Sen

Original music by Zach Bridges.

This episode was hosted, edited, and produced by Andrew Geary.

The SEG podcast team: Jennifer Crockett, Ally McGinnis, and Mick Swiney.

If you enjoy the show, please leave us a 5-star review on Apple Podcasts. Your reviews bring a smile to our faces. Follow Seismic Soundoff at https://seg.org/podcast to hear new episodes.

Other Listening Options

Download this Seismic Soundoff