SEG announces results of 2021–2022 Board of Directors election

Ken Tubman selected as SEG President-elect

The Society of Exploration Geophysicists (SEG) today announced results of its 2021–2022 Board of Directors election.

Ken Tubman was selected by SEG Voting Members to serve as President-elect. Following his one-year term as President-elect, Tubman will assume the office of SEG President following IMAGE ‘22 scheduled for 28 August–2 September 2022 in Houston, Texas.

Tubman has been a member of SEG since 1979. Previously, he served on the SEG Board as a Director at Large from 2018 to 2020. He has volunteered with SEG in multiple ways such as serving on committees and task forces, editing, and service on the SEAM Board. He is also an SEG Foundation Trustee Associate.

Tubman holds a PhD in geophysics from Massachusetts Institute of Technology and a bachelor’s degree in physics from the University of Massachusetts. He has spent more than 35 years in the energy industry. He currently serves as chairman of the board of directors of SAExploration, a leading seismic acquisition company. He has held senior positions within ConocoPhillips (including vice president geoscience and reservoir engineering, vice president subsurface), Veritas DGC (senior vice president Veritas Hampson Russell, vice president geoservices), and Marathon Oil (vice president technical innovation.) He started his career with ARCO and has held various technical and management positions in the central functions and business units. A common thread though most of his career is involvement in technology delivery and development.

Tubman credits his recent term as Director at Large for giving him a strong appreciation for the Society, the value it provides, and the challenges we face. “As an organization with significant connections to the oil and gas industry, SEG both benefits and faces challenges as that industry changes,” Tubman said. “One approach to deal with this change is for us to be more creative and flexible in responding. Another is for us to position differently, broadening beyond just a single industry focus. We need to use both approaches to position our Society for the future.”

Tubman’s area of focus includes strengthening SEG’s offerings in a number of ways appropriate for today’s environment. He states “SEG can offer more than just meetings and publications. We can provide a strong community that gives our stakeholders access to knowledge, services, technology, and exchange of ideas. We need better representation across those stakeholders (technical and business) to be sure the community delivers its full potential. Inclusion across the spectrum and collaboration with other societies will make us stronger.”

Also elected to the 2021-22 Board of Directors were Joseph M. Reilly, Second Vice President; Jeffrey Shragge, Vice President, Publications; Allen Bertagne, Chair of the Council; and Directors at Large Ana Curcio and Olga I. Nedorub.

The following SEG members have been elected to serve as District Representatives: District 1, Neda Bundalo; District 2, Kathryn Hardy; District 3, Christopher Ross; District 4, Ray Earley; District 5, Craig Funk; District 6, Marco Ceia; District 7, Laura Bornatici; District 8, Barbara Ciurlo; District 9, Obi Ifeanyichukwu; District 10, Abdulmohsen Alali; District 11, Rujia Wang; and District 12, Lisa Gavin.

View the list of newly-elected Board Members and District Representatives, complete with their bios, at the SEG Elections page.

Completing the slate of directors for the 2021–2022 term is incoming President Anna Shaughnessy, Bruce Shang as First Vice President; Peter Cramer as Treasurer; Maurice Nessim as Past President; and Sherif Hanafy, Brandy Hawkins, Kurt Marfurt, and Tad Smith as Directors at Large. The new Board will take office in September, following the final function of IMAGE ‘21.