Joseph M. Reilly selected as SEG’s next President-Elect

2 July 2024 | Houston, Texas, USA

The Society of Exploration Geophysicists (SEG) today announced results of its 2024 Board of Directors and District Representatives election.

Joseph (Joe) M. Reilly was selected by SEG Voting Members to serve as President-elect for 2024–2025. Following his one-year term as President-elect, Reilly will assume the office of SEG President following IMAGE 2025 scheduled for 24–29 August 2025 in Houston, Texas.

Reilly, who joined SEG in 1980, is a long-time member of the Geophysical Society of Houston, European Association of Geoscientists and Engineers, American Association of Petroleum Geologists, and is a licensed geophysicist in the state of Texas. In 2011, SEG honored him with Life Membership. He represented SEG on the Offshore Technology Conference (OTC) Technical Committee from 2006–2012, serving as OTC general technical chair in 2012. He also served as SEG representative on the International Petroleum Technology Conference Board from 2010–2021, including board chairman from 2017–2019. More recently, he was vice president on the SEG Board of Directors from 2021–2023.

Reilly currently represents the Geophysical Society of Houston on the SEG Council, is a member of the IMAGE ’24 Steering Committee, and is a mentor in the SEG EVOLVE program. In addition, he is an SEG Foundation Trustee Associate.

Reilly started his exploration career with Mobil and has many years of experience in addressing key geoscience-based challenges around the world. Early in his career, he sat wells both as a geologist and geophysicist in regions stretching from the offshore U.S. East Coast to Morocco and from the North Sea to Equatorial Guinea. He has been directly involved in seismic campaigns throughout the world and has been fortunate to participate in numerous exploration successes, as well as some disappointments. He holds a bachelor’s degree in geology from the University of Rochester and a master’s degree in geology/geophysics from Virginia Tech.   

Reilly has authored/coauthored hundreds of papers and presentations on a wide range of geophysical applications. While at Mobil, then ExxonMobil, he held technical and management positions in research and applied research, eventually becoming ExxonMobil’s chief research geoscientist. 

As SEG president, Reilly stated he will focus on maintaining the quality of our publications, expanding our global footprint through the attraction of new members, and increase sponsorship and collaboration with society partners. He will also ensure that we develop a specific strategy to grow in the areas of near surface, mining, fiber-optics sensing, and new energy sectors without detracting from our core strengths. 

Reilly is excited to work on these ideas but is also committed to active listening to ensure an open and inclusive environment and will seek to continuously engage the SEG Board, the Council, SEG staff, and the membership at large. He looks forward to serving our Society and contributing to its continuing success in the 21st Century. 

Also elected to the Board of Directors were Aria Abubakar, Second Vice President; Xiaojun Huang, Treasurer; and Directors at Large Joseph Ebeniro and Sandeep Chandola. Completing the slate of directors for the 2024–2025 term is incoming President John Eastwood; Marianne Rauch as First Vice President; Kyle Spikes as Vice President, Publications; Arthur Cheng as Past President; Ge Jin as Chair of the Council; and Sergio Chávez-Pérez, Catherine Truffert, Lillian Flakes, and Constantine Tsingas as Directors at Large. The new Board will take office following the final function of IMAGE 2024.

The following SEG members have been elected to serve as District Representatives: District 1, Sharon Teebenny; District 2, Kristie White; District 3, Janel Andersen; District 4, Steve Sloan; District 5, Carmen Dumitrescu; District 6, Itzamna Gonzalez; District 7, Phil Mollicone; District 8, Panos Doulgeris; District 9, Charles Ofoegbu; District 10, Ibrahim Attia; District 11, Jingjing Zong; and District 12, Rob Ross. District Representatives take office on 1 August 2024 and will serve until 31 July 2026.

View the list of newly elected Board Members and District Representatives, complete with their bios, at the SEG Elections page.