Summit on Geophysical Detection of Explosive Remnants of War: Solving Current Challenges of Unexploded Ordnance (UXO) and Demining

About

30 April–2 May 2024
Virtual

Workshop Overview

You are invited to submit an abstract to the Summit on Geophysical Detection of Explosive Remnants of War (ERW): Solving Current Challenges of Unexploded Ordnance and Demining. The virtual event will feature a technical program showcasing the latest in geophysical surveying and data processing for surveys performed on land, in water, and from the air. Besides former military training sites, the summit will address the interest that industry and governments are seeing in parts of the globe where kinetic engagements have been or are currently being fought. This would span across Europe and the Pacific islands from WW II engagements to current day Israel/Gaza and Ukraine. The event brings together researchers, industry professionals, and students to share and discuss recent advancements, challenges, and applications of geophysics for solving today’s detection, characterization, and removal of ERW.

The event will begin at 8:00 AM EST, which is UTC -4 hours, 3:00 PM EEST, 2:00 PM CEST, and 1:00 PM BST

Attend

Registration Fees

Professionals: US$150
Students: US$0 with proof of university student status emailed to [email protected]

Call for Abstracts

Abstracts are welcome for a variety of topics for the following environments: land, marine, and airborne:

  • Geophysical methods
    • EM
    • GPR
    • LiDAR
    • Magnetics
  • Novel Methods
  • Autonomous and Semi-Autonomous Vehicles
  • Case studies
  • Innovative and Emerging Technologies
  • Machine Learning and AI
  • Remote sensing methods

Abstract Submission Guidelines

All authors will submit a short abstract summarizing their work. The abstract should not exceed 1 full page (between 500-700 words) and one fully captioned image. All abstracts must be in PDF format.

  • Title: Font = Times New Roman, size = 14, bold
  • Author Name, affiliation, and contact email: Font = Times New Roman, size = 11, italics, immediately below the title.
  • Body: Times New Roman, size = 12, single spaced

Sample abstract can be found on the event webpage.

  • If the author wishes to submit an extended abstract, the fonts and formats are the same as above, but page length can be up to four pages.

Abstract Deadline: 22 February 2024

If your abstract is accepted it will be included and disseminated in the event program, and presentations will be recorded and made available for all registered attendee to view after the event.

Stay up-to-date on this workshop!

Important Documents

Important Dates

Call for Abstracts closes:
22 February 2024

Registration opens:
15 February 2024

ADVERTISEMENT