Society of Exploration Geophysicists announces 2017 SEG/Chevron Student Leadership Symposium travel grant award recipients

Fifty university student leaders from around the world were awarded

Tulsa, OK, 8 August 2017 – The SEG/Chevron Student Leadership Symposium (SLS) focuses on leadership, teamwork, and communication skills building for 50 student participants who are all active officers of their SEG Student Chapters. Students receiving the SLS travel grant award will participate in a two-day focused leadership program, taking place 23-24 September 2017 at the SEG Annual Meeting in Houston, TX, USA.

Fifty university student leaders from around the world were awarded an SEG travel grant to attend the SEG/Chevron Student Leadership Symposium in Houston. Competition for the travel grant is highly competitive and focused on the students’ chapter involvement, leadership skills, grades, and recommendations. This grant covers air transportation, lodging, meals, Annual Meeting registration, and participation in a weekend leadership course provided by SEG and Chevron. The SEG/Chevron Student Leadership Symposium includes an address by the SEG President, best practices presentations, professional leadership coaching, team building activities, and a Strategic Problem Solving Session with the SEG Executive Committee and Chevron personnel. Students will enjoy the rest of the week exploring all the venues of the International Exposition and Annual Meeting and end with a commencement ceremony to receive their prestigious award. SEG congratulates this year’s student leaders representing 27 countries and 50 university student chapters worldwide.

This year’s recipients are:

Agra Adipta, Pembangunan Nasional University
Aamer Alhakeem, Missouri University of Science and Technology
Ramy Aloush, King Fahd University of Petroleum and Minerals (KFUPM)
Widia Anggraeni, University of Lampung
Alexandru Badescu, University of Bucharest
Rimal Bhat, University of Petroleum and Energy Studies Dehradun
Paritosh Bhatnagar, University of Texas of the Permian Basin
Rutuj Bhayani, Indian Institute of Technology, Roorkee
Mouna Brahmi, University of Naples, Federico II Naples, Italy
Bojan Brodic, Uppsala University
Benjamin Consolvo, University of Western Ontario
Andrea Creighton, University of Wyoming
Christopher Galley, Memorial University of Newfoundland
Gabriel Gelpi, National University of La Plata
Chloë Glover, University of Memphis
Jørgen Hansen, University of Oslo
Teddi Herring, University of Calgary
John Intfen, The University of Kansas
Alejandro Jaramillo, Heriot-Watt University
Yeonghwa Jo, Hanyang University
Lisa Johann, Freie Universitaet Berlin
Tanisa Karima, Universitas Indonesia
Rizwan Ahmed Khan, King Fahd University of Petroleum & Minerals (KFUPM)
Lingyun Kong, University of North Dakota
Olena Krasnikova, Taras Shevchenko National University of Kyiv
Alok Kumar, Indian Institute of Technology (Indian School of Mines), Dhanbad
Micah Mayle, Oklahoma State University
Tate Meehan, Boise State University
Magdalena Mita, University of Silesia in Katowice, Poland
Hafiz Mohammed Nazifi, Sakarya University
MD Golam Muktadir, University of Dhaka
Hannah Pankratz, Western Michigan University
Myrto  Papadopoulou, Politecnico di Torino
Pedro Pereira, Instituto Superior Técnico, University of Lisbon
Kraipat Petrit, Prince of Songkla University
Mirnesa Rovčanin, European University Kallos Tuzla
Ahmed Saad, King Abdullah University of Science and Technology
Alisher Saduov, Kazakhstan-British Technical University
Jonathan Simpson, University of Auckland
Chulalak Sundod, Kasetsart University
Chen Tang, The University of Texas at Dallas
David Tang, The University of Texas at Austin
Henrik Thomsen, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Zurich (ETH Zurich)
Kristian Torres, Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro
Alan Vennemann, The University of Texas at El Paso
Josef Vlcek, Charles University in Prague
Zbigniew Wilczyński, AGH University of Science and Technology
Sixue Wu, Delft University of Technology
Fengyang Xiong, The Ohio State University
Zsófia Zalai, Eötvös Loránd University

Learn more about SEG’s Student and Early Career programs


Our advertisers help SEG provide services to our customers. Please consider unblocking ads for our site.

This website uses cookies. If you continue without changing your browser settings, you consent to our use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy. You can disable cookies at any time. Learn more

We also use partner advertising cookies to deliver targeted, geophysics-related advertising to you; these cookies are not added without your direct consent.


8801 S. Yale Ave. Suite 500
Tulsa, OK 74137
Phone: 918-497-5500
Email: [email protected]

CONNECT with us

Don't miss a thing.

Visit your SEG Communications Center to update your communications preferences.

Don't have an SEG account? It's free to create one - and you don't have to be an SEG member.

Twitter facebook linkedIn instagram youtube
Featuring bonus content!