Society of Exploration Geophysicists announces 2019 SEG/Chevron Student Leadership Symposium travel grant award recipients

Fifty university student leaders from around the world were awarded an SEG travel grant to attend the SEG/Chevron Student Leadership Symposium at the SEG Annual Meeting in San Antonio, Texas.


Our advertisers help SEG provide services to our customers. Please consider unblocking ads for our site.

Tulsa, OK, 11 September 2019 – Fifty university student leaders from around the world were awarded an SEG travel grant to attend the SEG/Chevron Student Leadership Symposium, 14–15 September 2019 at the SEG Annual Meeting in San Antonio, Texas. Competition for the travel grant is highly competitive and focused on the students’ chapter involvement, leadership skills, grades, and recommendations. This grant covers air transportation, lodging, meals, Annual Meeting registration, and participation in a weekend leadership course provided by SEG and Chevron.

The SEG/Chevron Student Leadership Symposium (SLS) is a collaborative effort between SEG and Chevron focusing on building leadership, teamwork, real world problem solving, and communication skills for 50 SEG student chapter officers. The awarded students of the SLS travel grant award will participate in a two-day leadership program, taking place at the SEG Annual Meeting in San Antonio, Texas.

Students enjoy an address by the SEG President, best practices presentations, professional leadership coaching, team building activities, and networking opportunities with the SEG Executive Committee and Chevron personnel. Students will enjoy the rest of the week exploring all the venues of the International Exposition and Annual Meeting. SEG congratulates this year’s student leaders representing 21 countries and 50 university student chapters worldwide.

This year’s recipients are:

Amin Abbasi Baghbadorani
USA Virginia Tech Geophysical Society
Anca Stancescu
ROMANIA University of Bucharest
Andika Perbawa
SAUDI ARABIA King Abdullah University of Science and Technology Geophysical Society
Angi Aparicio Guevara
COLOMBIA Universidad Industrial de Santander Student Geophysical Society
Arsya Kadyanto
USA Colorado School of Mines Student Society of Geophysicists
Bryan Thomas
USA New Mexico Tech Geophysical Society
Carol Whaley
USA University of Texas of the Permian Basin Student Chapter
Cody Good
CANADA University of Alberta Geophysical Society
Dawid Szafranski
USA Texas A&M University Geophysical Society
Deepak Kumar
INDIA National Geophysical Research Institute Geophysical Society
Derek Scott
USA University of Texas at El Paso Geophysical Society
Dorothy Mwanzia
KENYA Jomo Kenyatta University Geophysical Society
Eric Goldfarb
USA University of Texas at Austin Geophysical Society
Hannah Tilley
USA University of Hawaii Geophysical Society
Iwona Mika
POLAND AGH University of Science and Technology Geophysical Society
James Johnson
NORWAY University of Oslo Geophysical Society
Janos Mihalyka
HUNGARY Eotvos Lorand University SEG Student Chapter
Javier Fernandez Reynes
CANADA University of Quebec INRS Geophysical Society
Jing Wang
CHINA China University of Petroleum (Beijing) Geophysical Society
Johannes Brackenhoff
NETHERLANDS Delft University of Technology Geophysical Society
Karelia La Marca Molina
USA University of Oklahoma Geophysical Society
Ligia Elena Osorio
CANADA Memorial University of Newfoundland SEG Student Chapter
Lucas Monteiro
BRAZIL State University of Rio de Janeiro Geophysical Society
Luke Rijfkogel
USA Kansas State University Geophysical Society
Marihelen Held
USA Montana Tech of the University of Montana Geophysical Society
Martin Alexa
CZECH REPUBLIC Charles University in Prague Geophysical Society
Mengli Zhang
USA University of Texas at Dallas Geophysical Society
Muhamad Joko Prasetyo
INDONESIA Gadjah Mada University Geophysical Society
Muhammad Siregar
INDONESIA University of Indonesia Geophysical Society
Nienke Brinkman
SWITZERLAND ETH Zurich Geophysical Society
Nikol Posnov
CANADA University of Western Ontario Geophysical Society
Ogochukwu Ozotta
USA University of North Dakota SEG Student Chapter
Paulina Woźniakowska
CANADA University of Calgary Geophysical Society
Peter Americo Peny Machado
BRAZIL University of Campinas Geophysical Society
Pontsho Makhateng
SOUTH AFRICA University of Witwatersrand Geophysical Society
Poonnapa Klamthim
THAILAND Prince of Songkla University Geophysical Society
Rohit Khanna
INDIA Indian School of Mines Geophysical Society
Roman Petrokushyn
UKRAINE Taras Shevchenko National University of Kyiv Geophysical Society
Shaji Mathew
UK Heriot Watt University Student Chapter
Shelly Mardhia Faizy
SWEDEN Uppsala University Geophysical Society
Shreya Jagdish Kanakiya
NEW ZEALAND University of Auckland Geophysical Society
Sri Wahyuni
INDONESIA Hasanuddin University Geophysical Society
Tao Liu
CHINA China University of Geosciences Geophysical Society (Beijing)
Tara Annisa
INDONESIA Institute Technology of Bandung Geophysical Society
Uzonna Okenna Anyiam
CHINA University of Science and Technology China Geophysical Society
Vaibhav Mishra
INDIA University of Petroleum and Energy Studies Geophysical Society
Vinicius Antunes Ferreira da Silva
BRAZIL Federal University of Parana Geophysical Society
Wojciech Gajek
POLAND Institute of Geophysics Polish Academy of Sciences SEG Chapter
Yuchen Yang
USA Missouri University of Science and Technology SEG Student Chapter
Yuda Yushendri
USA University of Tulsa Geophysical Society

For more information about SEG’s Student and Early Career programs visit

This website uses cookies. If you continue without changing your browser settings, you consent to our use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy. You can disable cookies at any time. Learn more

We also use partner advertising cookies to deliver targeted, geophysics-related advertising to you; these cookies are not added without your direct consent.


8801 S. Yale Ave. Suite 500
Tulsa, OK 74137
Phone: 918-497-5500
Email: [email protected]

CONNECT with us

Don't miss a thing.

Visit your SEG Communications Center to update your communications preferences.

Don't have an SEG account? It's free to create one - and you don't have to be an SEG member.

Twitter facebook linkedIn instagram youtube
Featuring bonus content!