Society of Exploration Geophysicists announces 2017 SEG/ExxonMobil Student Education Program travel grant award recipients

Forty university students from around the world were awarded

Tulsa, OK, 8 August 2017 – The SEG/ExxonMobil Student Education Program (SEP) is a short course preceding the SEG Annual Meeting that prepares college students for the challenges of an oil industry career. The program includes two days of lectures and exercises directly related to geoscience/geophysical work performed in the oil industry. ExxonMobil provides course materials, team exercises, and networking opportunities. The awarded travel grants cover travel expenses, lodging, and registration fees to the SEG/ExxonMobil Student Education Program for 22-24 September 2017 and the SEG Annual Meeting taking place 24-27 September 2017 in Houston, TX, USA.

Forty university students from around the world were awarded the SEP travel grant to attend the SEG/ExxonMobil Student Education Program in Houston, Texas. Competition for the travel grant is highly competitive. Over 170 applications were received and evaluated based on the students’ academic performance, essays, previous published work, and recommendations.

After attending the course, students will enjoy the rest of the week exploring all the venues of the International Exposition and Annual Meeting and end with a commencement ceremony to receive their prestigious award. SEG congratulates this year’s Student Education Program awardees.

This year’s recipients are:

Dhruv Agrawal, The University of Texas of the Permian Basin
Maria Ayala, Universidad Autonoma del Carmen
Anna Bąk, AGH University of Science and Technology
Oluwaseyi Bolarinwa, University of Memphis
Cathleen Bressers, Indiana University
Kristina Butler, University of Alaska Anchorage
Vishal Das, Stanford University
John Ejembi, Southern Illinois University
Satoshi Fuse, Kyoto University
Alexander Garcia, The University of Texas at El Paso
Adam  Gostic, Louisiana State University
Evan Gragg, New Mexico Tech
Lauren Haga, University of Kansas
Carianna Herrera Di Giacinto, Universidad Simón Bolívar
Ken Ikeda, The University of Texas at Austin
Yanko Ivanov, University of Mining and Geology “St. Ivan Rilski”
Lingxiao Jia, University of Wyoming
Lian Jiang, University of Houston
Ryan Keast, Kansas State University
Rustam Khoudaiberdiev, University of Texas of the Permian Basin
David Kilcoyne, University of Arkansas
Telemachos Manos, Texas A&M University
Sofia Mantilla Salas, Universidad Nacional de Colombia
Anthony Moraes, University of Georgia
Olga Nosal, AGH University of Science and Technology
Oluwatobiloba Oyewumi, University of Alberta
Ogochukwu Ozotta, University of North Dakota
Iga Pawelec, Colorado School of Mines
Vinicius Riguete, Rio de Janeiro State University
Aline Robin, Institut De Physique Du Globe De Paris
Cristina Ruse, University of Bucharest
Ranjani Shamasundar, Technical University of Delft
Edith Sotelo Gamboa, Texas A&M University
Chloe Sutkowski, California State Polytechnic University, Pomona
Emilio Torres, University of Oklahoma
Yenni Villa Acuña, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Zurich ETHZ
Volodymyr Vragov, University of Calgary
Deborah Wehner, Freie Universitaet Berlin
Ronald Weir, University of Calgary
Thanagrit Wongpanit, Kasetsart University

Learn more about SEG’s Student and Early Career programs


Our advertisers help SEG provide services to our customers. Please consider unblocking ads for our site.

This website uses cookies. If you continue without changing your browser settings, you consent to our use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy. You can disable cookies at any time. Learn more

We also use partner advertising cookies to deliver targeted, geophysics-related advertising to you; these cookies are not added without your direct consent.


8801 S. Yale Ave. Suite 500
Tulsa, OK 74137
Phone: 918-497-5500
Email: [email protected]

CONNECT with us

Don't miss a thing.

Visit your SEG Communications Center to update your communications preferences.

Don't have an SEG account? It's free to create one - and you don't have to be an SEG member.

Twitter facebook linkedIn instagram youtube
Featuring bonus content!