Society of Exploration Geophysicists announces 2018 SEG/Chevron Student Leadership Symposium travel grant award recipients

50 university student leaders from around the world were awarded the grant

Tulsa, OK, 26 June 2018 –The SEG/Chevron Student Leadership Symposium (SLS) is a collaboration effort between SEG and Chevron focusing on building leadership, teamwork, real world problem solving, and communication skills for 50 SEG student chapter officers. The awarded students of the SLS travel grant award will participate in a two-day leadership program, taking place 13-14 October 2018 at the SEG Annual Meeting in Anaheim, CA, USA.

Fifty university student leaders from around the world were awarded an SEG travel grant to attend the SEG/Chevron Student Leadership Symposium in Anaheim. Competition for the travel grant is highly competitive and focused on the students’ chapter involvement, leadership skills, grades, and recommendations. This grant covers air transportation, lodging, meals, Annual Meeting registration, and participation in a weekend leadership course provided by SEG and Chevron. The SEG/Chevron Student Leadership Symposium includes an address by the SEG President, best practices presentations, professional leadership coaching, team building activities, and networking opportunities with the SEG Executive Committee and Chevron personnel. Students will enjoy the rest of the week exploring all the venues of the International Exposition and Annual Meeting. SEG congratulates this year’s student leaders representing 28 countries and 50 university student chapters worldwide.

This year’s recipients are:

  • Alexander Garcia, The University of Texas at El Paso
  • Andrew Wilson, Montana Tech of the University of Montana
  • Andrey Marcos Souza da Silva de Lima, Federal University of Para
  • Anna Bąk, AGH University of Science and Technology
  • Anthony Moraes, University of Wyoming
  • Arka Das, CSIR-National Geophysical Research Institute
  • Brij Singh, Institute of Geophysics, Polish Academy of Sciences
  • Carianna Herrera, Simón Bolívar University
  • Catalina Lacatusu, University of Bucharest
  • Dan Wang, Missouri University of Science and Technology
  • Dániel Kalmár, Eötvös Loránd University
  • Deborah Wehner, Freie Universitaet Berlin
  • Devendra Mishra, Indian Institute of Technology(Indian School of Mines)
  • Dewi Swastika, Hasanuddin University
  • Dhara Kumara, University of Indonesia
  • Dingyue Chang, Peking University
  • Dorcas Eyinla, University of Ibadan
  • Ederson Villamizar Escobar, Memorial University of Newfoundland
  • Ezaz Farooq, Bahria University Karachi Campus
  • Fan Zhang, University of Kansas
  • Felipe Melo, Observatório Nacional
  • Ishrat Eva, University of Dhaka
  • Jerson Tellez, The University of Oklahoma
  • Jinjutar Saisakares, Prince of Songkla University
  • Jonathan Orozco Rios, Universidad de Caldas
  • Jonathan Voyles, University of Utah
  • Jordi Puntu, National Central University
  • Juan Romero Murcia, Universidad Nacional de Colombia
  • Ken Ikeda, The University of Texas at Austin
  • Kiara Daly, University of Auckland
  • Kristen Marberry, Colorado School of Mines
  • Lebogang Sehoole, University of the Witwatersrand
  • Lee Jean Wong, Heriot-Watt University
  • Francisca Maepa, Laurentian University
  • Marcin Duda, Norwegian University of Science and Technology
  • Maria Ayala Fernandez, Universidad Autonoma del Carmen
  • Matthew Couchman, Texas A&M University
  • Myrna Staring, Delft University of Technology
  • Ogonna Emenaha, Nnamdi Azikwe University
  • Okwudili Pat-Nebe, University of Lagos
  • Oleh Petrokushyn, Taras Shevchenko National University of Kyiv
  • Patrick Elison, Swiss Federal Institute Of Technology (ETH)
  • Peleg Haruzi, RWTH Aachen University
  • Russell Krug, Fort Hays State University
  • Rustam Khoudaiberdiev, University of Texas of the Permian Basin
  • Ryan Haugh, New Mexico Tech
  • Sara Kellal, University of Boumerdes
  • Teresa Chazaro Calcaneo, Universidad Olmeca
  • Teyyuba Adigozalova, Azerbaijan State Oil and Industry University
  • Yanko Ivanov, University of Mining and Geology "St. Ivan Rilski"

Learn more about SEG’s Student and Early Career programs


Our advertisers help SEG provide services to our customers. Please consider unblocking ads for our site.

This website uses cookies. If you continue without changing your browser settings, you consent to our use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy. You can disable cookies at any time. Learn more

We also use partner advertising cookies to deliver targeted, geophysics-related advertising to you; these cookies are not added without your direct consent.


8801 S. Yale Ave. Suite 500
Tulsa, OK 74137
Phone: 918-497-5500
Email: [email protected]

CONNECT with us

Don't miss a thing.

Visit your SEG Communications Center to update your communications preferences.

Don't have an SEG account? It's free to create one - and you don't have to be an SEG member.

Twitter facebook linkedIn instagram youtube
Featuring bonus content!