Society of Exploration Geophysicists announces 2018 SEG/ExxonMobil Student Education Program travel grant award recipients

30 university students from around the world were awarded the grant

Tulsa, OK, 26 June 2018 – The SEG/ExxonMobil Student Education Program (SEP) is a short course preceding the SEG Annual Meeting that prepares college students for the challenges of an oil industry career. The program includes two days of lectures and exercises directly related to geoscience/geophysical work performed in the oil industry. ExxonMobil provides course materials, team exercises, and networking opportunities. The awarded travel grants cover travel expenses, lodging, and registration fees to the SEG/ExxonMobil Student Education Program for 12-14 October and the SEG Annual Meeting taking place 14-17 October 2018 in Anaheim, California, USA.

Thirty university students from around the world were awarded the SEP travel grant to attend the SEG/ExxonMobil Student Education Program in Anaheim, California. Competition for the travel grant is highly competitive. Over 130 applications were received and evaluated based on the students’ academic performance, essays, previous published work, and recommendations.

After attending the course, students will enjoy the rest of the week exploring all the venues of the International Exposition and Annual Meeting and end with a commencement ceremony to receive their prestigious award. SEG congratulates this year’s Student Education Program awardees.

This year’s recipients are:

  • Amin Abbasi Baghbadorani, Virginia Tech
  • Ana Dip, University of Quebec INRS
  • Andrew Bean, University of South Carolina
  • Caleb Eldridge, Auburn University
  • Chioma Onwumelu, University of North Dakota
  • Christopher Galley, Memorial University of Newfoundland
  • David Tang, The University of Texas at Austin
  • David Graham, University of Texas at Dallas
  • David Herman, University of South Carolina
  • Diana Tamayo, Colorado School of Mines
  • Jackson Zerr, University of Houston
  • Jared Bullock, University of New Orleans
  • John Ollmann, University of South Carolina
  • Juliann Coffey, University of Calgary
  • Lara Blazevic Vucelic, Sorbonne University
  • Lingyun Kong, University of North Dakota
  • Luke Rijfkogel, Kansas State University
  • Maria Kotsi, Memorial University of Newfoundland
  • Mark Mlella, University of Louisiana at Lafayette
  • Meghan DiBacco, University of Houston
  • Michael Dunham, Memorial University of Newfoundland
  • Michael Lis, The University of South Carolina
  • Nadine Igonin, University of Calgary
  • Nan Huai, Jilin University
  • Neal Turluck, Western Michigan University
  • Oleh Loshakov, Taras Shevchenko National University of Kyiv
  • Rahul Bhattacharya, Auburn University
  • Rana Nafea, Ain Shams University
  • Yichuan Wang, University of Saskatchewan
  • Yongchae Cho, Texas A&M University

Learn more about Student and Early Career


Our advertisers help SEG provide services to our customers. Please consider unblocking ads for our site.

This website uses cookies. If you continue without changing your browser settings, you consent to our use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy. You can disable cookies at any time. Learn more

We also use partner advertising cookies to deliver targeted, geophysics-related advertising to you; these cookies are not added without your direct consent.


8801 S. Yale Ave. Suite 500
Tulsa, OK 74137
Phone: 918-497-5500
Email: [email protected]

CONNECT with us

Don't miss a thing.

Visit your SEG Communications Center to update your communications preferences.

Don't have an SEG account? It's free to create one - and you don't have to be an SEG member.

Twitter facebook linkedIn instagram youtube
Featuring bonus content!