SEG Council

The SEG Council represents the Sections, Associated Societies, and Technical Sections of SEG and serves as advisors to the SEG Board of Directors. View current members

Council Chair Leadership

Gustavo Carstens
Chair of the Council

Gustavo Carstens

John L. J. Duhault
Vice Chair of the Council

John L. J. Duhault

Gustavo and John assumed their leadership roles after conclusion of SEG’s 2018 Annual Meeting and will serve until the SEG Annual Meeting in 2021.

Duties of the Chair of the Council

  • The Chair of the Council will serve as a full voting member of the SEG Board of Directors.
  • The Chair of the Council will call the Annual Meeting of the Council and conduct business as stipulated in the SEG Bylaws and requested by the SEG Board of Directors.
  • Communication with the Council is a major function of the Chair. It should be open and widely distributed.
  • The Chair is also responsible to communicate back to the Board of Directors on matters of concern to the Council.
  • The Chair will author a message to the Council timed to arrive shortly after each SEG Board meeting or more frequently as appropriate.
  • The Chair will continuously solicit comments and suggestions from the Council at large.
  • If appropriate, the Chair may wish to poll the Council on a given subject but there should sufficient time allotted for discussion prior to the poll.
  • The Chair may choose to appoint ad hoc committees to assist him/her or to perform other functions.
  • The Chair will serve on the Nominating Committee of the SEG.

Members of the 2019-2020 SEG Council

The Council consists of Representatives from each Section, Associated Society, Technical Section, and Geographic District.

Members in good standing are represented on the Council by a Geographic District Representative and may also be represented on the Council by Representatives from a Section, Associated Society, or Technical Section of which the Member is a member. However, each Active Member shall be represented by only one Section, Associated Society, or Technical Section as designated by the member.

The number in brackets indicates the number of representatives each District or Section has been allotted.

Section Representatives

Asociación Argentina de Geólogos y Geofisicos Petroleros [1]

Luis Vernengo

Asociación Colombiana de Geólogos y Geofísicos del Petroleo [2]

Enrique Guzman Naranjo

Asociación Mexicana de Geofisicos de Exploracion [1]

Efrain Mendez-Hernandez

Association of Hungarian Geophysicists [1]

Gábor Zelei

Australian SEG [3]

David Annetts
Richard Smith
Ted Tyne

Azeri Society of Exploration Geophysicists [1]

Said Sadykhov 

Bahrain Geoscience Society [1]

Bay Area Geophysical Society [1]

Michael Wilt

Erika Gasperikova 

Billings Geophysical Society [1]

Tom Hewitt 

Canadian Exploration Geophysical Society (KEGS) [1]

Micki Allen 

Canadian SEG [3]

Geoff Fraser
Neda Boroumand
John Duhult

Chamber of Geophysical Engineers of Turkey [1]

Coastal Bend Geophysical Society [1]

Subbarao Yelisetti

Dallas Geophysical Society [2]

Robert (Bob) Schellhorn

Denver Geophysical Society [1]

Sue Jackson

Deutsche Geophysikalische Gesellschaft (DGG) [1]

Marion Jegen-Kulcsar Serge Shapiro

Dhahran Geoscience Society [1]

Abdulaziz AlMansour
Khalaf AlTemimi

Emirates Society of Geoscience [1]

Guillaume Cambois

Aldo Vesnaver

Geophysical Society of Alaska [1]

Tiffany Carey 

Geophysical Society of Houston [6]

Craig Beasley
Peter Duncan
Maitri Erwin
Tommie Rape
Haynie Stringer
Dennis Yanchak

Geophysical Society of Kansas [1]

Hendratta Ali

Geophysical Society of Oklahoma City [2]

Alex Biholar
Kim Guyer

Geophysical Society of Pittsburgh [1]

Casey Hagbo

Geophysical Society of Tulsa [1]

Jennifer Kennedy

Italian EAGE-SEG Section [1]

Giovanni Florio

Jackson Geophysical Society [1]

Karl Kaufmann

Korean Society of Earth and Exploration Geophysicists [1]

Dong-Joo Min

Near-Surface Technical Section [2]

José Arce
Chester Weiss

Oslo Society of Exploration Geophysicists [1]

Alex Goertz

Pacific Coast Section of the SEG [1]

Gary Myers

Permian Basin Geophysical Society [1]

Ron Bianco

Petroleum Exploration Society of Great Britain [1]

Potomac Geophysical Society [1]

Catherine Enomoto

Romanian Society of Geophysics [1]

Victor Mocanu 

San Antonio Geophysical Society [1]

Bob Critchlow

Scandinavian Visualization Society [1]

Francisco Porturas Garcia 

Sociedad Venezolana de Ingenieros Geofisicos [1]

Herman Rojas

Sociedade Brasileira de Geofisica [1]

Ricardo Rosa Fernandes

Society of Exploration Geophysicists of Beijing [2]

Shaohua Zhang
Huasheng Zheng

Society of Exploration Geophysicists of Japan [1]

Koichi Hayashi

Society of Exploration Geophysicists Nigeria [1]

Wole Oyetoran 

SEG Port Harcourt [1]

Edafe Edivri

Society of Exploration Geophysicists Russian Section [1]

Society of Exploration Geophysicists South China Section [1]

Shouli Qu
Qinyong Yang

Society of Exploration Geophysicists Tyumen [1]

Society of Petroleum Geophysicists, India [1]

South African Geophysical Association [1]

Emmanuel Chirenje

Southeastern Geophysical Society [1]

Trevor Bollman

Southwest Louisiana Geophysical Society [1]

Brian Brennan 

Thailand Society of Exploration Geophysicists [1]

Phathompat Boonyasaknanon

Unión Geofísica Mexicana [1]

Rafael Avila Carrera

Uzbekistan Society of Exploration Geophysicists [1]

Vietnam Association of Geophysicists [1]

Bui Cong Que 

District Representatives

Note: Terms of District Representatives end on 31 July of the year indicated in parentheses.


Allen Bertagne (2021)
Connie J. VanSchuyver (2020)


Kathy Hardy (2021)
Tracy J. Stark (2020)


Tiziana Vanorio (2021)
Stuart Wright (2020)


Ray Early (2021)
Debra Phillips (2020)


Jennifer Leslie-Panek (2021)
Rachel Newrick (2020)


Hector Alfonso (2021)
Ana Curcio (2020)


Anton Bogrash (2020)
Isabelle Lecomte (2021)


Dirk Gajewski (2021)
Sandra Tegtmeier-Last (2020)


Obi Ifeanyichukwu (2021)
Uche Irene Aigbokhai (2020)


Tariq Alkhalifah (2020)
Sherif Hanafy (2021)


How-Wei Chen (2021)
Yonghyun Chung (2020)


Kim Frankcombe (2021)
Andrew Long (2020)


Our advertisers help SEG provide services to our customers. Please consider unblocking ads for our site.

Back to Top

This website uses cookies. If you continue without changing your browser settings, you consent to our use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy. You can disable cookies at any time. Learn more

We also use partner advertising cookies to deliver targeted, geophysics-related advertising to you; these cookies are not added without your direct consent.


8801 S. Yale Ave. Suite 500
Tulsa, OK 74137
Phone: 918-497-5500
Email: [email protected]

CONNECT with us

Don't miss a thing.

Visit your SEG Communications Center to update your communications preferences.

Don't have an SEG account? It's free to create one - and you don't have to be an SEG member.

Twitter facebook linkedIn instagram youtube
Featuring bonus content!